top of page

The Society's Annual Meeting

On 23 May over 50 members were present to hear Society member Jim Martin talk about his attendance at the Coronation of King Charles lll and Queen Camilla.  Jim attended in his capacity as the Right Worshipful Mayor of Hythe and the Speaker of the Confederation of Cinque Ports – both posts he has now relinquished.  He remains a Coronation Baron of Hythe for his lifetime!

There were some changes in Society personnel.  Christopher Melchers stood down as President and was replaced by Mike Umbers.  The post of Chairman changed too with Crispin Davies standing down and Paul Naylor becoming Chairman. 

After 16 years Mary Hunter stood down as the Society’s Hon Secretary.  In a mark of gratitude for her long service Mary received the Society’s Outstanding Service Award and some flowers as shown in the photograph.  Roger Neaves was reappointed as a Vice President.

For only the second time in the Society’s history, the Amenity Award was presented to “Open Door Hythe” – the community hub at 101 High Street.  The award was presented by the Society’s new Chairman, Paul Naylor, to the Revd Michael Darkins on behalf of the project.  The photograph shows, from left to right, John Langman, Paul Naylor, Linda Langman and the Revd Michael Darkins.  John and Linda Langman nominated Open Door Hythe for the award.

Their nomination says:

“My wife and I would like to nominate the 101 Open Door Project in the High Street for the Amenity Award.  It opened last Autumn as a community hub for the town.  It has been completely revamped from the old Pet shop that it was.  The facilities include a small shop at the front, manned by volunteers, which sells craft goods made by local Artisans and a book stall with Christian and local literature (including HCS publications).  This helps to defray the costs of running the project which has been financed by St Leonards Church.  There is also a small office with a computer and printer.  A well lit meeting room for up to twenty people with toilet and kitchen is also available.  There are two large notice boards covered with information about local organisations.  The meeting room has been used by Hythe Dementia, Rotary, Hythe Environmental Group and for teaching the Ukrainians English.  A sheltered sunny garden has been laid out at the back.  The flat above has been let out to Tynwald for their administration.”

The minutes of the 2022 annual meeting were agreed.  As the Charity Commission had no objection to the constitutional changes agreed at the 2022 annual meeting the revised constitution was formally adopted.  One of the changes to the constitution was to prepare and adopt a “Forward Plan” to guide the Society’s activities.  The Forward Plan was explained and adopted with one addition. 

The annual report and “examined” annual accounts for the 2022/23 year was adopted without dissent.  The proposal to increase the annual subscription from £10 per annum per household to £15 per annum per household commencing in April 2024 was agreed. 

The Executive Committee elected at the annual meeting now consists of:

Chairman – Paul Naylor

Vice Chairman – Betty Black

Hon Treasurer - Alan Joyce

Hon Secretary – Vacancy

Members – Jill Ayling; Bob Bruce; Sally Chesters; Crispin Davies; Mary Hunter; Keith Miles; Kim Murton; Jo Scott; and, Michael Tubman.

163 views0 comments


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page